Musings and Eats with Mikey


Musing #81
December 4, 2011, 8:53 pm
Filed under: Musing

I’m Back …

It is now nearing the end of another year and this blog has been pretty absent from activity in the past few months.  The lack of activity (the last post was in August) was intentional for the most part, but slightly unintentional.  As life was getting busier and busier, I decided it was a good time to take a break from feeling some sort of obligation to update this blog.  Now life hasn’t really gotten that much less busy (well maybe slightly), but I feel like it is a good time to start updating the blog again, at least here and there.  Also, being the end of the year, it is about time to do my favorite records of the year post, but that will be the next post, this one will be one about catching up.

So whats been going on?  Whats on your mind?

Well those seem like appropriate questions, so lets get into it.

Occupy Wall Street.  Everyone is talking about it, so I might as well give my two cents.  While the media often casts the movement (and I’m using the term movement loosely) in a some what negative light, I feel like it is about time that people start fighting for some semblance of sanity and reasonableness in this country.  I mean even Thomas Jefferson famously said that the people should start a revolution every once in a while to persevere liberty (I know that’s not the exact quote).  Now I know it is hard to figure out what exactly the message of this movement is, and I agree that it is the biggest problem of the movement, but there is a real great article by Matt Taibbi in one of the recent issues of Rolling Stone Magazine that explains why it is okay that they don’t have a focused message quite yet.  In the article he comes to the conclusion that although there is no focused message, the movement it self is basically sending the message that people are fed up with the direction the world is going and they want something different, and further they are aware that they might not have the answers to fix the problems, but they are looking for some new options.  I think this is a good assessment of the situation.   Things are not going well right now, and we need to figure out how to make the middle class stronger, because at the end of the day, they are people that fuel the economy (it is simple mathematics, they are the consumer class).  Not to wax too political or anything, but it is nice to see the majority opening their eyes to the fact they are being pushed around by the minority.

Also, its nice to see Fat Mike from NOFX getting involved in the movement, as punk rock has always been about fighting against the oppression of the rich, even though Mike is now part of the 1%.  It nice that he still remembers his roots and it is encouraging to see him amongst others support it in a real way.  Here is a video:

Life passing us by.  Lately I’ve been thinking about how we get so distracted in doing things, that we are often not completely engaged in the things we are doing.  Now I know at first this doesn’t seem to make a lot of sense, but stay with me for a second.  This weekend I saw the film the Descendants, the new George Clooney vehicle (it was really good, I recommend it).  In the film there is a scene where Clooney is having a small gathering at his house to tell all his friends and family that his wife, who is in a coma, doesn’t have much time left.  The thing that stood out to me in this scene is that Clooney’s character is so busy dealing with the procedure of dealing with his wife’s illness, he never takes the time to fully engage the situation and deal with it on an emotional level.  Now why is this something I have been thinking about?  Well a couple of things.  One is the recent passing of my grandfather.  Similar to Clooney in the movie, it seems like the people in the family who are the most effected by his passing have been the ones who are doing/did everything related to the “family matters”, and because they are so busy handling things, there is a slight detachment from the reality of the loss.  Now in situations like this it may be a good thing, as the distractions may help guard us from the heaviness of the grief.  Then when we finally deal with it, more time will have passed and maybe it will be slightly easier.  But who knows.  The other situation that this applies to, and the other reason I’ve been thinking about this, is that last weekend the band I played in during high school (Better Off Dead) played a 10 year reunion show.  Now by all measures the show was a complete success.  With only three days of rehearsal we were able to get the songs sounding as good as they did ten years ago, and then we were able to put together a party with around 100 people at my parent’s house and played a great show, raised some money for charity, and everyone really seemed to have a great time.  Now this is an assessment of the event that I have taken mostly from what people have told was their experience.  I on the other hand, sort of missed it all.  See, I was the one orchestrating the whole thing; it was at my parent’s place, I set up all the equipment, I was running the soundboard, recording the show, dealing with the other band, and making sure the party was going smoothly.  Basically, I was extremely busy the whole time.  So I was there, but I wasn’t really there, and I did not get to experience it like everyone else.  Now in this case, the distraction wasn’t guarding me from anything, but instead it caused me to miss a lot of the enjoyment, leaving me to wonder if although it was a success, I completely missed out.  I mean there was a huge build up to the event, with months of preperation, but when it was finally all said and done, it felt extermely anti-climatic for me.  That being said though, I had an amazing time the three days before rehearsing with the guys and hanging out and playing the songs again, so don’t feel too bad for me.  At the end of the day, my conclusion is that sometimes we need to just slow things down and take everything in, for good and for bad.  We only have one life to live, so why not experience it for everything it offers you?

Alright, I think that was a good start to bringing this thing back to life.  More to come …

Soundtrack: Tom Waits – Satisfied (off Bad As Me)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

